Moving in November | Mette Edvardsen: Time has fallen asleep in the afternoon sunshine


For Time has fallen asleep in the afternoon sunshine a group of performers memorize a book of their choice. Together they form a library collection consisting of living books.

The books are passing their time, walking around, talking together, reading in paper-books, ready to be consulted by a visitor. The visitors choose a book they would like to read, and the book brings its reader to a place or for a walk outside, while reciting its content – and possibly valid interpretations.

The idea for this library of living books comes from Ray Bradbury’s novel Fahrenheit 451, which is set in a future society where books are forbidden because they are considered dangerous, and happiness must be obtained through an absence of knowledge and individual thought. The number 451 refers to the temperature at which book paper starts to burn. In the novel, an underground community of people learn books by heart in order to preserve them for the future.

Books are read to remember and written to forget. To memorize a book, or more poetically
‘to learn a book by heart’, is in a way a rewriting of that book. In the process of memorizing, the reader steps for a moment into the place of the writer, or rather becomes the book. The practice of learning a book by heart is an ongoing activity in time, a continuous process of remembering and forgetting. There is nothing final to achieve.

This project by Mette Edvardsen aspires nothing material. Since its inception in 2010, the project has been presented in over fifty bookshops and libraries in different cities, with a growing number of living books in various languages. In Helsinki the project will be presented in Helsinki Kunsthalle in the midst of an ongoing exhibition. The visitor can choose between two Finnish, two Swedish and two English titles.

The performance is part of Moving in November festival 3.-13.11.2022. As part of the festival, there will be an open discussion with the invited artist and local host called Soup Talk on the 7th of November at noon in Caisa.

Duration 30 mins

Tickets 30/15 €
Festival pass 48 €

You buy a general ticket to the performance, without the date and time selected. After buying the ticket, you get a link to a calendar where you can book your one-on-one slot with the book of your liking.

Books to choose from: Viisi aistia yhdelle kuolemalle – Etel Adnan (fi), Your silence will not protect you – Audre Lorde (en), Hörluren – Leonora Carrington (se), Halla helle – Niillas Holmberg (fi), Beloved – Toni Morrison (en), Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury (se)

Concept: Mette Edvardsen
With: Staffan Eek, Sarah Ludi, Siriol Joyner, Mette Edvardsen, Freja Bäckmann, Satu Herrala and Mikko Hyvönen
Production assistant: Andrea Skotland
Graphic design print: Michaël Bussaer
Production: Mette Edvardsen/ Athome
Co-production: Dubbelspel – STUK Kunstencentrum & 30CC (Leuven), Dance Umbrella (London), Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brussels), NEXT Arts Festival (Valenciennes, Lille,
Kortrijk, Villeneuve d’Ascq), Wiener Festwochen (Vienna), Oslobiennalen First Edition
2019-2021 (Oslo), Museo Reina Sofia (Madrid), Dansehallerne (Copenhagen), 34th São Paulo Biennale (São Paulo), Centre chorégraphique national de Caen in Normandie (Caen), Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers (Paris)
Supported by: Norsk Kulturråd
Title: “Time has fallen asleep in the afternoon sunshine” is a sentence from a book by
Alexander Smith appearing in Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (1953)

Buy a festival pass

Register to Soup Talk

Read more

Silvano Magnone


Buy tickets

Kunsthalle Helsinki

Nervanderinkatu 3, 00100 Helsinki, Helsinki