35. International Choreographic Competition Hannover 2021 is looking for participants (Germany)


We very much hope that we will be able to hold our 35th competition in July  2021 again live at the Theater am Aegi.

These are the competition guidelines:
All participants, choreographers and dancers, ought to have professional training. Choreographers must be 39 or younger. The competition is open to any kind of style. Evaluation is based exclusively on imaginative use of space and time, the realisation of an idea, and its transfer onto the performers. The duration of the performance has to be between 5 and 12 minutes. A solo-ballet may not be interpreted by the choreographer him/herself. The applicant is free in his choice of subject and music. The choreographic work can be sent as an Internet link ( youtube, vimeo, etc.)  A DVD is also accepted. Applications please by March 26, 2021.

1st prize = 6000 EUR
2nd prize = 3000 EUR
3rd prize = 2000 EUR
Audience Award 1000 EUR
Online Award 1000 EUR
Award of the critics: 1500 EUR

Production Awards:

NEW: MiR Dance Company Production Award
The director of the MiR Dance Company at the Musiktheater im Revier Gelsenkirchen, Giuseppe Spota, will award a production award for the first time in 2021.

NEW: Production Award from  Tanja Liedtke Foundation at Staatstheater Hannover
Marco Goecke, Ballet Director at  Staatstheater Hannover, awards a production prize for the first time. The Award includes the development of a 15-minute choreography with the dancers of the theater. The fee for this is donated by the Tanja Liedtke Foundation.

Production Award Theater Pforzheim 
The Theater Pforzheim donates a production prize for the multi-part, contemporary ballet evening ”TANZ PUR”. The winner is invited to create a world premiere with dancers of the Ballett Theater Pforzheim, which will premiere as part of ”TANZ PUR”. Ballet director Guido Markowitz, member of the jury, will award the prize. The artist’s fee includes the accommodation costs during the production period.

Scapino Production Award
Since 2005 Ed Wubbe awards the Scapino production award. The award includes the development of an unique choreography with dancers from Scapino Ballet and the presentation in the series TWOOLS.

Bundesjugendballett Production Award
The Bundesjugendballett was founded by John Neumeier in  2011. Since 2012 the Bundesjugendballett  also sponsors a Production Award. Part of the award is the development of a choreography with the Bundesjugendballett.

Enclosed you find more informations about the competition.

More information plus application form: http://www.choreography-hannover.de.