International Competition for Choreographers Hannover


Next year the Ballet Gesellschaft Hannover organize the 34. International Competition for Choreographers Hannover. Within the last years the competition estimated as an important event in the national and international dance scene.

These are the competition guidelines:
All participants, choreographers and dancers, ought to have professional training.
Choreographers must be 35 or younger.
The competition is open to any kind of style.
Evaluation is based exclusively on imaginative use of space and time, the realisation of an idea, and its transfer onto the performers.
The duration of the performance, have to be between 5 and 12 minutes.
A solo-ballet may not be interpreted by the choreographer him/herself.
The applicant is free in his choice of subject and music.
The choreographic work can be send as an Internet link ( youtube, vimeo, etc.) A DVD is also accepted.

The money that can be won for the first 3 endowed prizes amounts 13.500 EUR. The audience prize amounts 1.000 EUR. Furthermore there is a critics prize of 1.500 EUR. A prejury will select a maximum of 20 the submitted works, which will enter the contest.

A total sum of 13.500.- EUR in prize money, as well as three production awards will be awarded. 1st prize = 6.000.- EUR / 2nd prize = 3.000.- EUR /
3rd prize = 2.000.- EUR / Audience award 1.000.- EUR / Award of the critics: 1.500.- EUR

Production Awards

NEW: Production Award Theater Pforzheim
The Theater Pforzheim donates a production prize for the multi-part, contemporary ballet evening ”TANZ PUR”. The winner is invited to create a world premiere in the spring of 2021 with dancers of the Ballett Theater Pforzheim, which will premiere as part of ”TANZ PUR”. Ballet director Guido Markowitz, member of the jury, will award the prize. The artist’s fee includes the accommodation costs during the production period.

Residenz International Production Centre Schloss Bröllin e.V
The International Production Centre Schloss Bröllin e.V. – northeast of Berlin – offers one of the participants a residence with the possibility of working on a new production with their own dancers. Accommodation, food and studio will be provided – a mentor stands accompanying. The selection will be made by Martin Stiefermann, Artistic Director of the Residence Programme and movin´ bröllin.

Tanja Liedtke Scholarshi
Since 2016 the Tanja Liedtke Foundation donated a three week’s scholarship at the Australian Dance Theatre in Adelaide, Australia. This Prize will be awarded by Garry Stewart, Director of The Australian Dance Theatre. The scholarship includes travel costs, accomodation, and ADT tuition.

Scapino Production Award
Since 2005 Ed Wubbe awards the Scapino production award. The award includes the development of an unique choreography with dancers from Scapino Ballet and the presentation in the series TWOOLS.

Bundesjugendballett Production Award
The Bundesjugendballett was founded by John Neumeier in 2011. Since 2012 the Bundesjugendballett also sponsors a production award. Part of the award is the development of a choreography with the Bundesjugendballett.

More informations about the competition.

We would be very grateful if you could retail these infomations. Please find the actual terms of conditions plus application forms on the internet at