International Competition for Choreographers Hanover


Next Year the Ballet Society Hanover organize the International Competition for Choreographers Hanover for the 32. time. Within the last years the competition estimated as an important event in the national and international dance scene.

These are the competition guidelines:
-All participants, choreographers and dancers, ought to have professional training.
-Choreographers must be 35 or younger.
-The competition is open to any kind of style. Evaluation is based exclusively on imaginative use of space and time, the realisation of an idea, and its transfer onto the performers.
-The duration of the performance, have to be between 5 and 12 minutes.
-A solo-ballet may not be interpreted by the choreographer him/herself.
-The applicant is free in his choice of subject and music.
-The choreographic work can be send as an Internet link ( youtube, vimeo, etc.)  A DVD is also accepted.
-The money that can be won for the first 3 endowed prizes amounts 13.500 EUR. The audience prize amounts 1.000 EUR. Furthermore there is a critics prize of 1.500 EUR

Production Awards
-NEW: Production Award Theater Regensburg Tanz: The winner of the Production Award Theater Regensburg Tanz has the opportunity to create a choreography with the dancers of the Theater Regensburg Tanz which will be present at the show “Tanz.Fabrik!” Yuki Mori has received the ”Critic’s Prize” and the „Audience Award“ at the International Choreographic Competition Hanover in 2005. Since 2012 he is director of Theater Regensburg Tanz.
-NEW: Residance Award DantzaZ Dance Company: The winner of the Residance Award DantzaZ has the opportunity to create a choreography with the dancers of Dantzaz which will be present at the tour 2019-2020.
Delattre Dance Company Award: The winner will receive the opportunity to present the choreography shown in the competition in a production of the Delattre Dance Company with the dancers of DDC .
Tanja Liedtke Scholarship: Since 2016 the Tanja Liedtke Foundation donated a three week’s scholarship at the Australian Dance Theatre in Adelaide, Australia. This Prize will be awarded by Garry Stewart, Director of The Australian Dance Theatre. The scholarship includes travel costs, accomodation, and ADT tuition.
Scapino Production Award: Since 2005 Ed Wubbe, the artistic director of the competition, awards the Scapino production award. The award includes the development of an unique choreography with dancers from Scapino Ballet and the presentation in the series TWOOLS.
Bundesjugendballett Production Award: The Bundesjugendballett was founded by John Neumeier in  2011. Since 2012 the Bundesjugendballett  also sponsors a production award. Part of the award is the development of a choreography with the Bundesjugendballett.

Please find the actual terms of conditions on: